David Davis’ stunning decision (From the archive)

Many constituents have been in touch asking what I think about David Davis’ stunning decision to force a by-election.

I strongly support David’s views on the 42 days’ detention and about the erosion of liberty under this Government. Many of us Conservatives have found the Government’s actions disgraceful and demeaning to a democracy and the way in which the 42 days’ vote was won was disgraceful. When I see our rights and liberties that our forebear fought so hard for abused and betrayed in this manner I can understand David’s fury.

I was stunned when I heard that David had resigned his seat in order to fight a by-election. Nothing like this has happened in my 16 years. It is a very unusual move, designed to open up a national debate about the erosion of civil liberties, which is very brave of David. Of course it is not yet clear whether it will work but I will certainly be supporting his campaign for re-election. The absence of a Labour Government candidate shows how frightened Gordon Brown is of this issue. It would have been valuable for the people to have heard how feeble their arguments are, I do hope that David will still be able to open up this vital issue for national debate.

Comments are closed.

