Visiting the new Major Crime Unit (From the archive)

With all the current publicity about knife crime, I was glad to be invited to visit the new Major Crime Unit at the Welwyn Garden City Police HQ by Detective Superintendent Andy Schrives

This unit deals with murders, attempted murders, kidnapping and other major crimes in Hertfordshire and Bedfordshire, and has 94 dedicated officers and staff. When I spoke with Andy, who used to be at the MET, it was clear to me that he is building four excellent teams to deal with major incidents. They have certainly had their work cut out over recent months and a number of their enquiries are now successfully in court with trials or are approaching the court. One case being tried in St Albans involves the notorious Bishop’s Stortford murder.

After meeting the team I also has the chance to visit the communications centre where all the 999 calls are received and dispatched. I was amazed at the level of technology they are using, the computers are able to find the caller on a map and even call on CCTV cameras in the area.

The centre is run by Andrew Crook and I’m going to write community groups and parish councils and explain that it welcomes visitors. I am sure that it would provide a fascinating insight into the modern technology the police now use.

Comments are closed.

