Sunday’s Remembrance (From the archive)

I am looking forward to Sunday’s Remembrance Service in Royston. It is a time to remember and honour the service and sacrifice of our magnificent armed forces. But in Royston it is also a celebration of our close ties with Bassingbourn barracks. The presence of serving soldiers at the Parade gives the occasion added significance and makes us realise that generation after generation has fought to protect us and make Britain what it is today. As a Royston resident, I always think that our Remembrance Day is very well organised by the Royal British Legion and the Town Council. It is also very well attended and a credit to the Town.

I will be placing my wreath at the Memorial on behalf of all residents of North East Hertfordshire constituency. In other years I attend the Parades at the other three towns of Letchworth Garden City, Baldock and Buntingford. These are always special occasions and I believe that this Sunday will be even more so as we think of our forces in Helmand, Basra and across the World.

Comments are closed.

