Buntingford Youth Council (From the archive)

After asking my Question to the Foreign Office Minister about Afghanistan (see speeches), I had a visit from 7 members of Buntingford Youth Council and Town Council Clerk Jill Jones. We met in a Committee Room in the new Parliamentary building, Portcullis House, and I explained about the debate that day on expanding Heathrow. We discussed lots of excellent questions on state education, student finance, the Smoking Ban and other points. Buntingford has had a good history with its Youth Council and I invite them to Westminster regularly. The group clearly enjoyed seeing Parliament in action.

I then showed the group round the ancient Westminster Hall, St Stephen’s Hall (original site of the Commons’ Chamber), Central Lobby and then arranged Gallery tickets so they could watch part of the debate. A good visit.

Comments are closed.

