Update on Air Passenger Duty

I am sure many of my constituents were pleased to hear about the changes to Air Passenger Duty which were unveiled during the Budget. Recently Nicky Morgan MP Financial Secretary to the Treasury wrote to me providing more details.

From 1 April 2015 there will be an abolition of duty bands C and D; any country over 2,000 miles from London will fall into the same B rate banding as the USA and for those travellers flying to band A destinations within the UK and Europe, the economy flight duty rate is set to remain at £13.

I am glad that the Treasury is simplifying our previous system of Air Passenger Duty. I am know that many of my constituents travel regularly and I hope that these new measures will assist them.

Comments are closed.

